The New York Institute For Special Education

Skip to main content
· Serving Students with Special Needs since 1831 ·

NYISE honored at the Annual Meeting of the American Printing House for the Blind

David Baez with his award

 The American Printing House for the Blind (APH) held its 149th annual meeting this week. It was a busy week for those attending the various sessions and meetings.

On Wednesday, The Council of Schools for the Blind (COSB) held an Awards Banquet where one of our own was to receive a special award for his long service to the students of the school. Jason Laracuente gave the introduction and David Baez was honored as the 2017 Outstanding Residential Life Staff Member.


The art works of Jessica and Steven

Two Schermerhorn students were featured at the 2017 InSights Art Exhibition. Ninety spectacular works by artists with vision loss were displayed to the public. Jessica Karim’s wire sculpture and Steven Marcano’s ceramic of trees gained much positive attention by the attendees of the conference.  Also exhibited was the Louis Braille’s first published braille codebook published in 1829. It is one of only six in existence. 


Hall of Fame inductee William Bell Wait

On Friday, APH held a Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony attended by our Executive Director Bernadette Kappen. It was her honor to represent the school as William Bell Wait (1839-1916) was inducted to the Hall of Fame for his 50 years of service to the school and for his various contributions to the field of blindness. Mr. Wait was the inventor and promoter of the New York Point system for writing for the blind.


Dr. Kappen with the Wait Bronze plaque